Rich or Poor…which are you?

“Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.”
~Matthew 5:3

So what exactly does this mean?
Are we not supposed to be ‘rich’ with God’s word?

Yes, we are supposed to store up God’s word of truth like treasure and riches, but what happens when we think we are rich, but are actually “wretched, pitiful, poor, blind, and naked”? What happens when we think we have everything that we need, but should actually be buying gold refined in the fire?

“You say, ‘I am rich; I have acquired wealth and do not need a thing.’ But you do not realize that you are wretched, pitiful, poor, blind and naked. I counsel you to buy from me gold refined in the fire, so you can become rich; and white clothes to wear, so you can cover your shameful nakedness; and salve to put on your eyes, so you can see.” 
~Revelation 3:17-18

These people think they are rich, they think  that they do not need a thing, but are their opinions of themselves true and accurate? Aren’t they told that they are actually wretched, pitiful, poor, blind and naked?

This passage is not speaking literally because I can guarantee you that if I was walking around blind and naked I would most definitely be aware of it, yet Jesus says “you do not realize” that you are all these things. Spiritually speaking they believe they are rich, not needing any more knowledge and understanding than what they have. But who inherits the kingdom of heaven? Those who think they have and know everything, or those who realize they don’t?

~~~
“God opposes the proud, but gives grace to the humble.”
~James 4:6

8 thoughts on “Rich or Poor…which are you?

  1. being rich is all about feeling the importance of the gift of life and realizing the truth that each moment we have is non return able and the unique gift of creator for acknowledging his blessings and being grateful for them in every breath,

    and to me who has whole material but dont recognize his creator’s kindness towards him is really a poor

  2. I definitely don’t want to come to the point where I think I know it all (in terms of my faith). That is a scary place to be. Thanks for the insight :)

  3. I always prefer to be simple but happy. I’ve known a lot of people who are financially rich but they said they are not genuinely satisfied. Being rich therefore is not measured on how much your savings in the bank, or how much your business has prospered, it more of how much you become happy and guided by God on the simple things that you have in life. I know I am not financially rich, but because i have a very loving family and relatives who always appreciate and encourage, I feel so rich.

    • Hi Earlie, I know a lot of people like you mentioned as well.
      Spiritually speaking though, riches are having things like understanding and knowledge. However, there are those people who spiritually think they are rich, yet they don’t realize they are poor, blind and naked.
      I want to be rich in God’s eyes, I want to have true understanding of God’s word – true riches.

Leave a Reply

