Who has the right to call God, Father?

Of your parents, who do you most resemble? I have been told I mostly resemble my mother, but there is a lot of my father in my too. I should hope so, since they are both my parents, and through them I was physically created. I have their DNA, I have their genes. Certain characteristics that belong to them, now belong to me as well.

When I was younger I used to have friends come hang out  at my house. When my father got home from work we would run up and greet him. My friends were there so often and knew my family so intimately that my dad could have felt like a father to them, but who was the only one who had the right to call my dad, father? Only I was. Why? Because I was born of him, I was born of his seed.

So who really has the right to call God, Father? We might think of Him as our Father, but does He think of us as his children?

“No one who is born of God will continue to sin, because God’s seed remains in him; he cannot go on sinning, because he has been born of God.” ~1 John 3:9

If someone has been born of God, they have God’s seed in them. What is this seed? Well, Luke 8:11 tells us the seed if the word of God. But just to make sure, let’s see what 1 Peter 1:23 says:

“For you have been born again, not of perishable seed, but of imperishable, through the living and enduring word of God.”

Here again we can see that God’s word if represented by seed, imperishable seed, which is the living and enduring word of God. Where does a farmer sow seed? In a field. And in 1 Cor 3:9 we are told that we are God’s field, therefore we should have his seed sown inside of us. We have to receive God’s seed, His living and enduring word, in order for us to be true children of God.

However, there is more than one seed. Just like God has His seed, Satan also has his. There are so many warnings for us in the New Testament about not being deceived. Whose seed would be used to deceive us? Not God’s! This is why Paul tells us that we have to become mature believers, because we have to be able to distinguish good from evil (Heb 5:14).

In John 8:39-47, while Jesus is speaking to the Jews and Pharisees he tells them, “You are doing the things your own father does” implying that their father is actually the devil, not God. They protest and say that they are descendants of Abraham, and that they are not illegitimate children, they only have one Father, God himself. But Jesus goes on and in verse 44 says,

“You belong to your father, the devil, and you want to carry out your father’s desire. He was a murderer from the beginning, not holding to the truth, for there is no truth in him. When he lies, he speaks his native language, for he is a liar and the father of lies.” 

Because they had Satan’s lies inside of them, Satan’s seed, Jesus told them they were actually children of Satan, they belonged to their father, the devil. The Pharisees believed in God, and even thought they were children of God, but because they did not have God’s seed – the word of truth – they were not truly God’s children.

If you plant an apple seed, what tree will grow? An apple tree. The same is true for any other seed that you plant. You cannot plant an apple seed and then wish and hope and pray that an orange tree with grow.

If we want to be children of God, we have to make sure that we have His seed planted within is, His word of truth.

“He chose to give us birth through the word of truth, that we might be a kind of firstfruits of all he created.”~James 1:18

~~~
Have you ever traced your family tree back to see who you are descendants of? 
Have you ever believed in a lie?
Do you go apple picking?

4 thoughts on “Who has the right to call God, Father?

  1. Great post HL.

    I actually haven’t traced my family tree, but that is a great idea–since, I have a pretty big family!

    I’ve definitely believed in the lies of the enemy in certain seasons of my life. So thankful for God’s grace and the Truth!

    I’ve actually never ever been apple picking, but I wnna someday!

    • Hey Jon, after you told me about all the weddings you are going to be attending I definitely believe you when you say you have a huge family!
      I have never been apple picking either, everyone here seems to love it, so maybe I will try it someday…I do love apples!
      I have always been amazed at how easy some lies are to believe, sometimes they are even easier to believe than the truth…that is the sad part!
      Hope you having a great long weekend~

  2. WOW… you made that really easy to understand. And i love how everythng you said has it’s place in scripture. THIS is what understanding God’s word is about, seeking HIS answers and HIS logic, not what makes us happy and comfortable believers. God’s word is unchanging and will endure forever, so it is good to understand it properly, it allows us to have unshakable faith!! Thanks HL.
    Ps. been fooled MANY times, never traced my family tree and never been apple picking :P

    • Hi LL, thank you for your kind words, I agree that we often have to step out of our comfort zones to truly seek God’s answers, His logic, and understanding of His word of truth.

      I actually had to trace my family tree back 6 generations as a school project in 7th Grade…of course my parents found this way more interesting that I did at the time…BUT I did find out that one of my ancestors was involved with creating a certain brand of sewing machine way back when (thrilling stuff I tell you!)

      Good to hear from you (and really enjoyed your last blog, and the song you posted)

Leave a Reply

