A few questions…

Recently I have been reading some blogs which claim to be sharing Christian thoughts, beliefs, and moral values, but instead of feeling inspired to seek deeper and get to know our Lord more intimately, I have been left feeling offended, shocked and often annoyed. This has got me thinking, and so today I have a few questions for you all… If you have the time (and the inclination) feel free to leave your answers or thoughts in the comment section below.

Why do you blog?
I blog because I love to share God’s word. I have been so blessed by the things that I have learnt on this journey of intense seeking and studying and so I want to share it with whoever wants to read about it. I will not force my opinion on others, and I will always substantiate what I am saying with Biblical proof (Bible verses). I don’t want fame and fortune, I just want to share what I have learnt, and hope that is blesses others as much as I have been blessed.

Have you ever been offended or annoyed by a [Christian] blog’s content? 
(I’ve already answered this one)

What do you look for in a blog?
I mainly focus on content. I do not like a lot of ads. I know it might sound superficial, but that is just my opinion. It slows the loading of a page, and for someone who gets distracted easily millions of ads are never a good idea. However, that being said, I have found a few blogs that have many ads and I still visit them often, why? they have great content.

What kind of writing style are you drawn to?
I am drawn to either humorous writing (I’m a big fan of dry humor), or something I feel I can learn from – informative and clearly explained. I realize I do not write with very much humor…I am not sure why this is exactly, but I think it is mostly because as much as I enjoy being entertained while reading, I prefer being challenged and made to think. Basically I would rather learn than laugh (not in all areas of life mind you…).

Would you return to a blog if there were never responses to your comments, or is it something more than that, that makes you keep going back?
I always go back to check the blogs I comment on, and I always like reading the author’s response to my comments, it shows appreciation for the person who has taken the time to comment, and creates a sense of ‘cyber-relationship’. If there are no response comments, but the content is really good I will probably keep going back to read, but I probably won’t comment very often.

What are your thoughts about all of this? 
Share away…

4 thoughts on “A few questions…

  1. Why do you blog?
    1) My blogging is personal therapy.
    2) I am a youth pastor, and I want to give my teens something to “think about” each week.
    3) I hope to encourage others that stumbled upon the site.

    Have you ever been offended or annoyed by a [Christian] blog’s content?
    I try not to become offended at the blogs of others. If someone is bold enough to share their opinion with all of cyberspace, I have lots of respect for them. I don’t become offended when I see books at the bookstore if I disagree with their content, and I don’t become offended when particular tv shows aren’t about something I like or agree with, and I view someone’s own blog the same way. It’s their mark on the world, and I really enjoy our uniqueness.

    What do you look for in a blog?
    I look for content, originality, and a feeling that the author is genuinely connected to whatever they’re blogging about.

    What kind of writing style are you drawn to?
    I love funny stuff, spiritual stuff, challenging stuff, and most of all something that will change me by the time I read the last letter.

    Would you return to a blog if there were never responses to your comments, or is it something more than that, that makes you keep going back?
    I might not go as often, but then again, if the author writes about something I’m really into, I’d probably keep sneaking back.

    What are your thoughts about all of this?
    Great questions! As someone who’s wanting to spread the love, I appreciate the “pause”!

    • I think I could learn from you and your take on “being offended”… I really enjoyed all your answers (great answers!), but what you said about being offended really made me think…
      We are all entitled to our own opinions, but it is not really opinions that I am shocked by, but rather attitudes and egos. Shouldn’t we all be loving, compassionate, gentle, humble and kind? I feel like sometimes Christians want to be seen as “cool” and part of the “cool group”, so those things end up going out the window, for the sake of acceptance…
      Thank you for making me think about my own reactions to these things!

  2. Why do you blog?
    I enjoy writing–getting my thoughts down, and I also like sharing them with others. I enjoy finding community, and being able to discuss in conversation with others.

    Have you ever been offended or annoyed by a [Christian] blog’s content?
    To be honest, yes. Sometimes, the way people write really bugs me. I also get frustrated when some bloggers tend to mock a certain way of thinking just because its less familiar. Yet, at the end of the day, I try to look at it the way the person above stated. It’s so easy to misunderstand people on the internet, and even if we don’t agree with a certain person’s approach, we should just love them.

    What do you look for in a blog?
    Number one thing for me is authenticity. I just want the person to be real.

    What kind of writing style are you drawn to?
    I like anything that engages me. Practical topics, News Related, Spiritual, Music/Media, Fun topics.

    Would you return to a blog if there were never responses to your comments, or is it something more than that, that makes you keep going back?
    It would depend on the blog. I know that there are some bloggers who gets tons and tons of comments, so they may not be able to respond to every comment all the time. But, in general, I just think it makes your readers feel welcome, when the blogger takes time to reply to the comments. So, I guess it depends for this one.

    Great post HL! Thanks for sharing your thoughts. :)

    • Hey Jon, great answers!
      I actually noticed you have a nice little community growing on your blog.
      I agree that the blogs I read have to be engaging, I get distracted [and bored] quite easily… I also like it when people can substantiate what they are saying with proof (evidence/articles/verses etc).
      Thanks for taking the time to answer all these questions :)
      Hope your test went well!

Leave a Reply

