May 21, 2011…seriously!?

“Watch out for false prophets. They come to you in sheep’s clothing, but inwardly they are ferocious wolves.” ~Mt 7:15

So I guess I am a little behind the times…I just found out today, for the first time, about Harold Camping’s prophecies about the Rapture and Judgment Day taking place on May 21, 2011. I drove passed a few billboards claiming that judgment day was coming, and that the Bible actually guarantees this date. I thought it was just some strange conference ad, but still came home and googled the date… Apparently Harold Camping’s organization, Family Radio Worldwide, has plastered bus stops, benches, cars, RV’s and billboards with warnings about May 21 (as in 20 days from now) being the end of the world.

I am not going to entertain you with my initial reaction to all this, but it definitely inspired me to get-a-bloggin’, so here goes.

Harold Camping is claiming to know something that the Bible clearly states neither the angels in heaven nor Jesus himself know, only God alone knows the day and hour. So either Mr. Camping does not believe in the very words of the Bible he is preaching, or he is proclaiming himself to be God…

“But of that day and hour no one knows, not even the angels of heaven, nor the Son, but the Father alone.” ~Mt 24:36

And how about the following verses?

“Therefore keep watch, because you do not know on what day your Lord will come. But understand this: If the owner of the house had known at what time of night the thief was coming, he would have kept watch and would not have let his house be broken into. So you also must be ready, because the Son of Man will come at an hour when you do not expect him.” ~Mt 24:42-44

“Now, brothers, about times and dates we do not need to write to you, for you know very well that the day of the Lord will come like a thief in the night.” ~1Thes 5:1-2

“He said to them: ‘It is not for you to know the times or dates the Father has set by his own authority.” ~Acts 1:7

There are approximately 2.1 billion Christians in the world today, and approximately 38,000 different denominations amongst them. The Bible is the best selling best-seller of all time, yet somehow it remains the most misunderstood and misinterpreted book of all time.

On a lighter note, I read a funny response to all of this on facebook. There is a guy who is challenging everyone who believes Harold Camping’s “prophecy” to write him a $5000 check on May 20…they won’t be needing the money anymore, right?

~~~
What are your thoughts on all of this? 
Have you seen any billboards around your neighborhood? Do you know anyone involved with Family Radio Worldwide?

One of the many articles about the ‘Camping prophecy’: End of Days in May? Believers enter final stretch

19 thoughts on “May 21, 2011…seriously!?

  1. Yea, I heard about him a month or so ago. It’s really sad. 1. That he is claiming to know something that he doesn’t and 2. That he is leading SO many others astray with this fallacy. I haven’t seen billboards, but my friends posted up a picture of the buses with the end of the world junk on the buses. He even comes on television, and preaches so many false teachings. It makes me sad the people feed into it.

    • I know, Jon, it makes me really sad too! I wish people would stop being blindly lead, but rather seek God, and His secrets and wisdom for themselves!
      The truth is here, but we have to be seeking, hungry, and humble.

  2. (Oh that’s scary)…if I were a fool to believe him though. There are many like him who tried to be a prophet. Just so annoying that people use this misinterpretations for their publicity..
    But on the positive note, we just have to be prepared all the time because no one knows when is the exact promise..which means it may be any time actually.

    • I know, we would have to be foolish to believe him, yet there are so many who do. It is really sad!

      I love your positive note :) We do have to make sure we are prepared – we need the correct wedding clothes (Mt 22:1-14), the lamp and the oil (Mt 25:1-13), and we have to keep the new covenant (Heb 8). Thanks for the positive spin on all of this!

  3. Just another group rattling the sabre for their own means. In three weeks their time will have come and gone without incident. The Jehovah’s Witness’s were guilty of this several times in the past and their predictions did not bode well.

    I do not know anyone associated with Family Radio Worldwide, but I have seen their advertisements (not impressed).

    I predict that the end may come on the The Feast of Trumpets…but I would not presume the exact time or year; thus, I will not be putting up a billboard:->

    • I am familiar with the JW’s predictions, yet still it amazes me that people hold onto their beliefs so fervently.

      I wonder what will happen to Harold Camping’s ministry when May 22, 2011 rolls around…

  4. I’m not writing any checks, either! ;) This is the first I’ve heard of it, as well. I’m curious if he’s out in the streets with a sandwich board handing out pamphlets to people passing by.

    • The guy is 89 years old… I think he probably hires “fresh legs” to stand on street corners with sandwich boards and pamphlets :)
      I thought that “writing checks” comment on facebook was pretty funny, haha!

  5. Jn 12 v 48: “There is a judge for the one who rejects me and does not accept my words; that very word which I spoke will condemn him at the last day.”
    … nothing further to say … except Mt 15:14: “Leave them; they are blind guides. If a blind man leads a blind man, both will fall into a pit.”

    • Reading and understanding those verses really makes you feel sad for this guy. It makes me think of Mt 7:21-23. He probably thinks he is prophesying in the name of the Lord, and doing the work of God…how sad for him when the fulfillment of John 12:48 comes.

  6. The end is set and God alone knows when it is. Harold Camping has been down this road before but not this vociferously I believe. We should warn and exort and then get out of the way because when the blind lead the blind they both fall in the ditch.

    • Great verse, both you and LL (above) quoted it :)
      I had never heard of Harold Camping until 3 days ago… I feel so sad for those who have bought into these lies.

    • Hi, thanks for stopping by. Anyone and everyone is welcome here, I know it is not everyones cuppa tea, but please feel free to visit whenever you want :)
      ~

  7. i dont think its going to happen…i guess its because its so random….? i mean out of no where a guy comes and says, “hey look, on may 21 is the end of the world!” i mean really! but in the same time…i’m not so sure myself….but still, so…RANDOM!!!!

    • Hi Claudia, it is really sad how the same thing (predicting the end of the world) has been going on for ages. The Jehovah’s Witnesses have tried their hand at it [many times], and many other Christian leaders too. These false prophets and their false predictions have ruined peoples lives, have instigated mass suicides, and have left people hating God.

      I can assure you there is nothing to worry about this Saturday :)
      Thanks for stopping by!

  8. I heard about this only on the day of and it was supposed to occur at 6pm eastern. When I heard it, I bust out laughing b4 it was finished being told to me. It nearly offended my friend who was so serious and thought it could be possible, but we enjoyed the nite after I told him it’s completely impossible to figure out the exact hour of the end of the world and that the Earth itself cannot be destroyed. The only possible thing that could happen is the end of a government and all the signs have not been fulfilled yet for even that to occur. Seems pretty close now though, but I realize things don’t happen according to time. They occur due to certain events taking place.

    All honor to Jesus Christ, the father of the Hebrews

    • These claims (like I say in the post) are pretty ridiculous. This man was proving himself to be a false prophet…and it was really worrying to see how many people actually got lead astray by his lies.
      We can only understand the fulfillment of prophecies once they have actually taken place. God put a very clever plan into action…John 14:29 “I have told you now before it happens so that when it does happen you will believe.” We are not expected to believe something BEFORE we have the fulfillment and explanation.
      We are however, expected to believe and have faith in God’s promises, and that what He promises He will fulfill –and only He knows the day and the hour! :)

Leave a Reply

