There’s no time to procrastinate!

There are some days when this video = me…
I know that procrastination and laziness are not totally the same thing, but one usually leads to the other, and so it got me thinking. Proverbs 10:4 says,

“Lazy hands make a man poor,
   but diligent hands bring wealth.”

It is important to understand the true meaning of being ‘poor’ and having ‘wealth’. God’s word is compared to precious treasures (Ps 119:172, Ps 12:6), and having wisdom and true understanding of His word is more valuable than any physical treasure (Pr 8:10-11). In the parables in Matthew 13, ‘hidden treasure’ and ‘pearls’ (precious things) are used to describe God’s kingdom and His word of truth. Therefore, if I am not working and seeking to understand and gain true wisdom about God’s word, ultimately, I will be seen as spiritually poor in His eyes, no matter how many spiritual ‘riches’ I might think I have.

I do not want to be like one of these people in Revelation 3:17

“You say, ‘I am rich; I have acquired wealth and do not need a thing.’ But you do not realize that you are wretched, pitiful, poor, blind and naked.” 

Luckily in the next verse (Rv 3:18) Jesus counsels them to buy from him the things that they need so they can see, be covered (correctly dressed), and be wealthy. However, this involves repentance, and acceptance of their wrong ways.

Now is the time to gain the true understanding, a complete understanding of God’s word, from Genesis to Revelation. Now is the time to follow God’s light (Ps 119:105) and truth (John 17:17) to His holy mountain, the place where He dwells (Is 2:2-3; Heb 12:22; Rv 14:1-3). His word has been opened and revealed, there is no time to procrastinate, but are you willing to step out of your comfort zone and truly seek God’s kingdom and righteousness before all else? (Mt 6:33)

Psalm 43:3

“Send forth your light and your truth,
   let them guide me;
let them bring me to your holy mountain,
   to the place where you dwell.”

~~~
What is the greatest ‘treasure’ you own? (physically speaking of course)
Do you suffer from the “Procrastination Disease”?

8 thoughts on “There’s no time to procrastinate!

  1. Wow…I needed to read this today. Man, that video is me on certain days. Always putting off things…so yes I do suffer from the Procrastination Disease. It is something I’m improving on, though.

    My greatest is physical treasure. Hmmm..that’s hard. I really do enjoy my music so probably music? (which includes my ipod/laptop because it plays that music :) )

    • Haha, yea, I suffer from it too…and like you, I am working really hard on it – ultimately one feels really good when you get your things done in a timely fashion… (that is what I kep reminding myself!)

      MUSIC!! I totally agree :) Physically, I would have to say that (financially and emotionally) my greatest ‘treasure’ is my instrument, and my music too!
      (of course family tumps all things, but just being totally materialistic here…)

  2. hey healingleaf ,thank you so much for kind words on my place,

    the video above ,i think this is best thing i saw on internet,it helped me my mantle situations now a days,and i really felt my heart goes along this amazing voice.
    thanks for sharing,
    god bless you always.

    • Shabana, so good to hear from you. I hope you are doing ok, I will keep you in my prayers.
      The video really describes what our lives sometimes look like, we put things off and just never get around to doing the things we need to, or the things that matter the most.
      Sending my love and prayers your way ~

    • Hi Jay.me, I wonder the same thing…we get so caught up in our ‘things’ that we don’t realize they are not always necessary, and they just end up making our daily lives so full and complicated.
      Hope you are doing well, and had a good weekend :)

  3. hahahaha… what an accurate (yet depressing) little video. Man, my middle name is procrastination, especially when it comes to admin and paper work.
    This was a really good post HL, and something that I know I definitely overlook a lot of the time! God’s standards are different to our own, and so while we may think we are busy doing things that really please God – becuase they are kind and nice things to do – are they the things God ASKED us to be doing for Him!?! God asks us to know Him in order to have eternal life, Thanks for reminding me of how important prioritizing correctly is!!

    • “God asks us to know Him in order to have eternal life” ~Amen!

      I am definitely not the best at getting my paperwork done either… I would rather clean the entire house, and then offer my spectacular cleaning services to the neighbors…unfortunately this does not sit well with my boss…

      Thanks for sharing such valuable points – making sure we are doing the things God has asked us to be doing for Him (not the things we think we should be doing for Him).

Leave a Reply

