What is your motivation?

Have you ever had times when you feel like the things that you are working for are totally out of reach?

Even when there are many obstacles to overcome we have to keep running the race, working towards those things that might seem unattainable at times. Here is what Paul has to say about staying motivated, no matter what.

Not that I have already obtained all this, or have already been made perfect, but I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me. Brothers, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.”
~Philippians 3:12-14

~~~
What motivates you?
What verses are your motivation? 

~~~

“Do not harm the land or the sea or the trees until we put a seal on the foreheads of the servants of our God.” Then I heard the number of those who were sealed: 144,000 from all the tribes of Israel.
~Revelation 7:3-4

“And they sang a new song before the throne and before the four living creatures and the elders. No one could learn the song except the 144,000 who had been redeemed from the earth.”
~Revelation 14:3

12 thoughts on “What is your motivation?

  1. Motivation is extremely important! Forvme I am motivated when I see people changed by the power of God. What is sometimes hard for me is those times when you work and work and don’t see the results. That’s when we need to get our motiviation straight from God.

    • Yea, those times when no change is evident are definitely the hardest times. It can get really frustrating and tiring to keep working at something that just never seems to “bear fruit” – even just a tiny little berry would be appreciated sometimes :)
      Throughout the New Testament there are so many amazing promises and blessings, that is the only motivation we should need…yet we, in our human state, find it so difficult to put the things of God before the things of the flesh.

  2. So HL,
    I definitely needed to read this today! I’m working on resumes and job hunting argh. I am motivated by other people. When I see other people going full out and pursuing their dreams, it makes me want to do the same. More than though, God motivates me, especially in those trying times.

    One verse that comes to mind is Philippians 4:13: I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.

      • Haha, glad you liked the cartoon :)
        Seeing other’s success and determination also inspires me and keeps me motivated to work harder and do better – in all aspects of my life.
        Makes me think of Proverbs 27:17 “As iron sharpens iron, so one man sharpens another.”

        Good luck with those resumes and the job hunting! and have a great 4th of July :)

Leave a Reply

